Speed dating

Speed dating of sewing machines. Today I have learned to use 11 different sewing machine techniques! 11! I had 20 minutes on each machine with a different foot to explore it and make some samples and then moved on to the next one. I want more days like this!

  1. Pintuck Foot.

The pintuck needs a string to lift/hold the fabric to create fabric manipulation. Not my favourite technique but I do like the textile it gives.

2. Quoter inch stem foot

This one is actually very complicated. I had to stitch the silk fabric first then turn it inside out which is a tricky part because the silk stripe is meant be be very thin. Then stitching the loops was quite challenging too because its hard to get them to be the same size and shape. Definitely needed more then 20 minutes on this but managed to finish it in time.

3. Piping foot

I really like this one, the foot is shaped so the yarn can’t escape so you can’t really go wrong. After I have done the piping I sawed it on organic fabric.

4. 3-way cording foot

The foot has 3 tiny metal beds for 3 threads, the thread coming out of the needle stitches it down. There was a little struggle to keep the 3 threads in place.

5. Cording foot.

The same idea as the previous one. Folds thread, in this case ribbon and stitched around it to hold it down. Also very similar to pintuck.

6. Ruffler foot

The ruffler foot is so big and looks very dangerous! It also very loud and scary! But it does make amazing ruffle. The foot has different setting for how scrunched up I want the ribbon to be.

7. Needle Punch Machine

This machine has 6 needles, you can get ones with a lost more.The needled literally punch the felt through the base fabric. It is better to use something thin or loose weave because that gets get felt in more.

8. XR33

IMG_1914

This machine is electronic. There is a numbered key board with up to 30 stitches on. Also there is a button that puts your needle down in the fabric or up which means that I don’t have to turn the knob. This helps to stitch round shapes. It can also stitch through diffult fabrics like leather or neoprene.

9. Janome 6600P

IMG_1916

Another electric machine. Much more advanced, it has about 100 different stitched and small scale of alphabets and numbers. This is probably my favourite one because it can actually write! Exiting!

10. Decorative needles

This needle allows me to stitch two rows of the same sewing at the same time, there is 2 or more needles with two different thread source that stitches the rows. In this case I have used triple needle.

11. Fringe foot

This foot has a sort of bridge in a middle which allows the thread to create fringes which I can then cut of leave intact.

I have to say the Janome 6600p was my favourite machine out of all of them. I will definetly use type in my project!

 

Leave a comment